Nian Sun, Ph.D.

Founder; Chief Technical Advisor; Professor of ECE, Director of the W.M. Keck Laboratory for Integrated Ferroics, Northeastern University

Dr. Nian Sun is a professor at the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, and Director of the W.M. Keck Laboratory for Integrated Ferroics, Northeastern University. Prior to joining Northeastern University, he was a Scientist at IBM and Hitachi Global Storage Technologies. He was the recipient of the NSF CAREER Award, ONR Young Investigator Award, the Søren Buus Outstanding Research Award, etc. His research interests include novel magnetic, ferroelectric and multiferroic materials, devices and subsystems.

Dr. Nian Sun has over 250 publications and over 20 patents and patent disclosures. One of his papers was selected as the “ten most outstanding full papers in the past decade (2001~2010) in Advanced Functional Materials”. Dr. Sun has given over 100 plenaries, keynote or invited presentations and seminars in national and international conferences and universities. He is an editor of IEEE Transactions on Magnetics, and a fellow of the Institute of Physics, and of the Institution of Engineering and Technology. Prof. Sun’s research lab is fully equipped with facilities for the fabrication and characterization of RF/microwave materials, devices, and electromagnetic subsystems. His research efforts include novel magnetic, ferroelectric and multiferroic microwave materials for RFIC and MMIC, different RF/microwave devices and subsystems.


  • Stanford University, CA, USA
    Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Materials Science and Engineering


  • Professor, Northeastern University, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Boston, MA 02115
  • Sabbatical Visiting Professor, MIT EECE Department
  • Founder, Winchester Technologies, LLC
  • Founder, Instant Diagnostics
  • Scientist, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies, San Jose, CA
  • Scientist, International Business Machines (IBM), San Jose, CA


  • M. Keck Foundation Award
  • Fellow, IoP
  • Fellow, IET
  • Søren Buus Outstanding Research Award
  • Ten Most Outstanding Papers in the Past Decade (2001~2010) in Adv. Funct.l Materials
  • US Air Force SFFP Fellow
  • US Air Force SFFP Fellow
  • NSF CAREER Award
  • ONR Young Investigator Award
  • First Prize, IDEMA Fellowship
  • President’s Fellowship, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
  • Outstanding Graduate of the Institute of Metal Research, CAS