Hwaider Lin, Ph.D.


Dr. Hwaider Lin is the President of Winchester Technologies, LLC, located in Burlington, Massachusetts. Dr. Hwaider Lin is also the National Science Foundation (NSF) SBIR/STTR technical reviewer. Dr, Lin works as the principal investigator (PI) on multiple projects regarding R&D, prototyping, and commercialization of cutting-edge materials, devices, microsystems for novel RF/microwave and mm-wave electronics, novel electrochemical sensors, and sensing systems for biomedical sensing. Dr. Lin also develops the company’s business/research strategy and managing the business and research team.

Dr. Hwaider Lin has been doing research in NSF ERC Center for TANMS (The Nano-systems ERC for Translational Applications of Nanoscale Multiferroic Systems Research Center) prior to joining Winchester Technologies and has achieved great progress especially in NEMS antenna which was published in Nature Communications and was widely cited in different news media, including Nature, Science, news in different websites and newspapers in different languages, TV interview, etc. The NEMS antenna also won the NASA Tech Briefs – Create the Future Design Contest: First Prize with over 800 entries from 60 countries. He has 8 years Comsol and HFSS experience, 3 years cleanroom experience, more than 15 Grant writing experience. He has given over 25 presentations at international conferences and has published 38 papers and held 3 patents on NEMS antennas. Dr. Lin has also reviewed more than 75 NSF SBIR/STTR Phase I and Phase II proposals as a technical reviewer.


  • Northeastern University, MA, USA
    Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Electrical Engineering – Microsystems, Materials, and Devices
  • National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan
    Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Power Mechanical Engineering


  • First Prize: Create the Future Design Contest, NASA Tech Briefs magazine
    (In Electronics/Sensors/IoT Category with over 800 entries from 60 countries)
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Award, Northeastern University
    • In Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Engineering
    • Highest honor at Northeastern University
  • Three Minute Thesis Competition – Finalist, International Microwave Symposium
  • Best Student Paper – Finalist, International Microwave Biomedical Conference
  • ECE Distinguished Research Assistant Award, Northeastern University
  • Comsol Best Poster Award, Comsol Conference, Boston, MA
  • Best Student Presentation Award – Finalist, Annual Conference on Magnetism and Magnetic Materials