In 2009, founded by Nian Sun, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Director of the W.M. Keck Laboratory for Integrated Ferroics at Northeastern University, Winchester Technologies, LLC is an offshoot of Northeastern University’s laboratory work. Winchester Technologies is quickly building up the facilities and research capability. The company’s mainstay is its collaborative research team, drawing support from Professor Nian Sun’s lab of about 20 scientists and engineers. Winchester Technologies has been focused intensively on magnetics research and product development for almost ten years. Winchester Technologies received more than 25 awards from different agencies, like NSF ERC, DARPA, AFOSR, and has signed more than 20 non-disclosure agreements with different companies for product evaluation and potential investments, including SONY, Raytheon, Analog Devices Inc., Boeing to many small businesses.


  • Novel magnetostrictive materials and radically new RF nanoelectromechanical system (NEMS) magnetoelectric sensors, and real-time electro-magneto brain activity mapping in awake, normally active live animals.
  • Integrated nanoscale magnetic and magnetoelectric sensors with picoTesla sensitivity at DC and low frequencies.
  • Integrated magnetic and magnetoelectric microdevices for power electronics.
  • Integrated RF and microwave magnetic and magnetoelectric microdevices.
  • Multifunctional materials based miniaturized antennas, filters, magnetic field sensors, inductors, etc.


Currently, the research team of Winchester Technologies is home to about 30 scientists and engineers, including collaborative research members of Northeastern University’s Advanced Materials and Microsystems Laboratory (AMML). See below for a directory of researchers.

Winchester Technologies Staff

Nian Sun, Ph.D.
Founder; Chief Technical Advisor
Hui Lu
Chief Executive Officer
Yuan (Daniel) Gao, Ph.D.
Hwaider Lin, Ph.D.
Interim COO; VP of R&D
Chia-Shih (James) Cheng, Ph.D.
Senior RF Engineer
Xiaoling (Amy) Shi, Ph.D.
Senior Research Scientist
Yen-Chun (Eric) Fu, Ph.D.
MEMS/CMOS Engineer
Ivan Lisenkov, Ph.D.
Research Consultant
Chu-hung (Peter) Lee
Mechanical Engineer
Peter Kelly
Mechanical Designer

Advanced Materials and Microsystems Laboratory (AMML) Members

Chen, Lei, Ph.D.
Visiting Scholar

Jiawei Wang, Ph.D.
Visiting Scholar

Tu Cheng, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral research associate

Xianfeng Liang
Ph. D. Candidate

Huaihao Chen
Ph. D. Candidate

Neville Sun
Ph. D. Candidate

Cunzheng Dong
Ph. D. Candidate

Alexei Matyushov
Ph. D. Candidate

Mohsen Zaeimbashi
Ph. D. Candidate

Yifan He
Ph. D. Candidate

Yuyi Wei
Ph. D. Candidate

Shadi Emam
Ph. D. Candidate

Mehdi Nasrollahpourmotlaghzanjani
Ph. D. Candidate

Anthony Romano
Ph. D. Student

Nirjhar Bhattacharjee
Ph. D. Student

Zhaoqiang Chu
Ph. D. Student

Changxing Sun
Ph. D. Student

Zengtai Zhu
Ph. D. Student

Alexandria Will-Cole
Ph. D. Student

Yingxue Guo
Graduate student

Damo Wang
Graduate student